Bibliophile

vintage novels

I’m not a fan of literary technology. I prefer my books in their natural state – paper and cardboard. If they are bound in leather or buckram, all the better. I like feeling the weight of the words in my hands, touching the pages with my fingertips, inhaling the words like breathing in air.

When I open an old book, sometime I imagine smelling coal oil smoke, or tallow from a burning candle. I can envision the original owner, reading late into the night, engrossed in a mesmerizing tale.

One day soon, real books will be as rare as handwritten letters.

The 100 Word Challenge is to tell a story in only 100 words. This week’s theme is “Rare”
NaBloPoMo 6/30

13 thoughts on “Bibliophile

Join the discussion...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.