Everywhere a sign

love hurts grafitti

I’ve had my small share of heartache – teen angst boyfriend break-ups, unrequited love – but the worst pain, is when I’ve loved so much that it felt like my heart would literally burst.

The loss of a loved one – death from illness, or age, or injury – especially when unexpected. You are left with regrets for what wasn’t said or done. Regrets that you didn’t appreciate the time you had, regrets that you can’t have that time back.

There is no greater pain than the love I feel for my children. It’s as if  my heart can’t contain all the emotions I carry – pride, happiness, joy, adoration, anger, confusion, hurt, insecurity, surprise, protectiveness, amazement, excitement…

When I have to say “good-bye” to my children, off on their own away from home as independent adults, the pain can be overwhelming. This is what I’ve worked toward as a parent, but it doesn’t lessen the pain.

There are times when I look at my husband of 27 years, and I’m amazed by how lucky I am to have him in my life. My heart aches with the love I feel toward him.

Love hurts, but sometimes that pain simply reminds us how lucky we are to have people in our lives to love and who love us.

wordpress button grunge
Submitted to Weekly Photo Challenge. The theme was to, “share a picture of a SIGN and explain why you chose that picture.”