Panic mode

When I sat down last night to edit my photos for this week’s SiMC, I had a full-blown panic attack… I feared that the above photo was all I’d get to share. My 4+ year old laptop is in her final death throes. While this is a First World Problem, I’m more than a little twitchy about the fact that all my photos, raw and edited, are stored on my curmudgeonly aluminum Mac… all 16,000 of them. And yes, you read that right – SIXTEEN THOUSAND.

The Mister set up my laptop to automatically back up to our external hard drive, but I’ve never tested it to make sure it was working right. Needless to say, I’m worried about saving my files. We have some work ahead of us today.

As for my Sunday set, I thought I could point out that I featured several photos from the past week in other posts:

Like Saturday’s recap of my 365Project shots, or my attempt at Conservation humor with Three Little Pigs. I got a smidge dark in Last Flight, but each post was illustrated by recently snapped photos.

On Sunday morning, when I tried once again to coax my Mac to cooperate, much to my surprise, she allowed me to move a select number of photos to a thumb drive. I didn’t want to be greedy, so I copied the raw images I meant to share today, and a couple more I wanted to use this coming week.

I have our home computer and my daughter’s old laptop to work with, but it’s just not the same. My beloved MacBook has seen me through some good and bad times. I will mourn her.

Here is my abbreviated Sunday in My City offering, taken on the drive home from a visit with my College Kid in North Carolina. I took all of these with my camera phone, so the quality of the images is not great. (If you follow me on Instagram, you may have already seen most of these too.)

(Photos shot with a Nikon D60, using an 18-55mm, 55-200mm, 20mm f/2.8 wide-angle, 50mm f/1.8 prime lens, Nikon CoolPix S205 and/or iPhone4)

For more photos, please visit my Flickr photostream or my 365 Project Page.

Unknown Mami

To see other city scenes from around the world, check out Unknown Mami’s Sundays in My City. Don’t forget to show the love to Mami and the other City contributors.

16 thoughts on “Panic mode

  1. I’m still looking for the best way to store my photos; early on I wasn’t in the habit of deleting everything I didn’t care for – much better about it now but I have this backlog to fuss with someday. They also reside on a MAC (that’s in need of replacing – been lusting after the new Maccbook Pro with retina display) and Seagate external drives (with other stuff). I still miss things I lost in last year’s laptop crash – tread carefully getting everything you need offloaded.

    Like

  2. Blech on the dying computer. I know the pain of that. My laptop is currently in her death throws as well 😦

    There’s nothing wrong with cellphone shots 😉 Goodness knows, most of mine are cell shots 😉

    ❤ that sky shot!

    Like

  3. I too have a MacBookPro, vintage 2007, so I am just waiting for the dreaded day. Love the sky photo, but the one with the car waiting for the geese to cross was wonderful. Thanks for sharing your photos and words, both of which are spectacular.

    Like

Join the discussion...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.