Walking it off

Lent, a 40-day period of repentance and fasting in the Christian calendar, began last Wednesday. During the six weeks leading up to Easter, many New Year’s resolution underachievers, give the attempt of self-improvement one more try. The shorter duration of deprivation somehow seeming less intimidating.

Sugar, chocolate, alcohol and caffeine are common indulgences included on verboten lists. I’m not a Resolution maker, but each year I do attempt some sort of Lenten fasting. This year I’m giving up being fat.

Not eating fat, just being fat. I’m attempting to be more active, walking in the mornings, and taking my photo hikes more seriously. I’m also keeping a food diary… that’s been a real treat. I’ve been very good at denying how much I actually eat. Writing it down, being accountable for it, is sobering.

This week’s shots were taken during one of my hikes. Instead of taking only one a week, I’m trying to get two or three done. My knees and hips are complaining, but I am beginning to feel better overall. I hope to lose 10% of my body weight during Lent, and just in time for my daughter’s graduation at the end of April.

* These shots were all taken at Fred Gannon/Rocky Bayou State Park in Northwest Florida.






(Photos shot with a Nikon D60, using an 18-55mm, 55-200mm, 20mm f/2.8 wide-angle, or 50mm f/1.8 prime lens and/or a Nikon CoolPix S205)

For more photos, please visit my Flickr photostream.

More Weekly Winners photo galleries can be found at I am Lotus. Please leave a little comment love for our lovely hostess and the other WW photogs.

To see other city scenes from around the world, check out Unknown Mami’s Sundays in My City. Don’t forget to show the love to Mami and the other City contributors.

24 thoughts on “Walking it off

  1. That second shot is breathtaking. I love your idea of participating in Lent but looking at it in a really positive way. I know you’ll feel better as time goes by.

    Like

  2. Oh what a joy to look at your beautiful pictures…every one of them….after watching the horror and destruction going on in Japan. I’m praying for them…

    Like

Join the discussion...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.