Shimmer

orangestripeswm

I tightly shut my eyes. Blocking out all light, save for the neon floaters weaving in and out of my periphery. Efforts to clear my mind of the incessant buzz of voices, and white noise, is hopeless. The best I can accomplish is to mute them down to a dull hum.

Like a 15-puzzle, I try to slide my thoughts around into some semblance of order. It’s hard to concentrate in the dark, until those thoughts begin to shimmer, taking on a light of their own.

Then they shift and slide, moving sideways, up and down, into perfect order.

The 100 Word Challenge is to tell a story in only 100 words. This week’s theme is “Shimmer”

4 thoughts on “Shimmer

So, tell me what you really think:

