Overflowing pitchers

I’ve felt like a shut-in for so long, it was wonderful to finally get out for a real photo hike this weekend. I went prepared though. I traveled to Tarklin Bayou State Preserve hoping to find the Pitcher Plant fields in bloom. I knew from previous visits, that with the amount of rain we’ve had lately, the trails would be flooded… so I threw my galoshes into the back of my car.

When I arrived at the Preserve, another family was parking too. One of the women was a tad concerned about my boots and mighty walking stick. I think she was worried I had the stick to beating off snakes and the boots… well, those were intimidating. I warned them the trails may be wet, and I found out later that they didn’t believe me about how bad it was until they were faced with knee-deep swampy trails. I tried…

The pitcher plant fields were in bloom, but the camouflaged carnivores were smaller than I’ve seen in the past. With my trusty water boots, I was able to hike into the field to get some fun shots. Did manage to scare myself when I flipped over a piece of wood that looked suspiciously like a black snake. (Was very glad to have my walking stick.) I also managed to NOT say any of my fancy words. I think I did squeal like a little girl, then laughed when I realized it was just a stick.

Taking the raised boardwalk to the t-pier that ends in the bayou, I was there resting when I saw the disbelieving fam again. I felt vindicated when the doubters told me about the impassable trails. Amateurs.

You can click on any image to see a larger photo, or the series as a slideshow.

(Photos shot with a Nikon D60, using an 18-55mm, 55-200mm, 20mm f/2.8 wide-angle, 50mm f/1.8 prime lens, and/or iPhone4)

Unknown Mami

Submitted to Unknown Mami’s Sundays in My City

14 thoughts on “Overflowing pitchers

  1. Never under estimate a woman with boots and a walking stick :-)
    Love the pics. That first flower is stunning. I don’t think I’ve seen one like that before.
    Happy SIMC, jj

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

