Best pun ever!

hiking trailGrowing up, my mother was a master punster. Her word-play calisthenics, to an adolescent, were real groaners. As I get older, my genetic predisposition for puns has begun showing more and more, but mom’s true scion is my daughter.

At the ripe old age of six, she quipped the best pun I’ve ever heard.

We were on a summer walk at a local park the morning after a heavy rain. The combination of dampness and humidity was the perfect environment for mosquitoes and biting no-see-ums.

The pests had us slapping our arms and legs the whole time we were there. Exasperated with the swarm that was feasting on us, my daughter grumbled:

Next time we need to use bug spray so we won’t be bugs’ prey.”

Best pun ever!

wordpress button grunge

Submitted to Daily Prompt. The theme was to, “Tell us a joke!”

19 thoughts on “Best pun ever!

  1. Pingback: old man’s humor | memoirs of an unremarkable man

  2. Pingback: Jokeulous! That Daily Prompt Show! | Edward Hotspur

  3. Pingback: The Greatest Magic Trick, Ever | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: RECURRING DREAMS | hastywords

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: What Nerds Find Funny | Nerd.Laugh.Love

  6. Pingback: A Joke for the Daily Prompt | Cheri Speak

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt….My parting words….. | The Cheeky Diva

  8. Pingback: What’s in door #1? | Thriving Pessimist...

  9. I have been meaning to tell you this story.
    You know that my mom and George are currently weighing their options about their retirement FINAL DESTINATION (I am slightly on the edge of sobbing tears every time I think of her moving away..ahem)

    but of the places they visited on their 3 week trip, they have finally narrowed it down to two communities. One is in NC and the other is in GA about 10 minutes from Savannah.

    my mom is like sweet nectar to mosquitoes, she can be outside for less than 2 minutes and come inside the house looking like they’d made a quick meal of her. About two weeks ago she had a Manhattan (or two) and was talking to me…”we need to go, Kirst, it’s going to be okay. You know what I’m worried about? He’s taking me to “Muggy and Buggy”, I mean can you believe this? Muggy and buggy…”

    I still giggle.

    so your mom’s pun and then your daughter’s reminded me of my own mom’s…more GIGGLES.

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

