Battle stations

dragonfly swarm

Angry mosquitoes whizz past my head like a sniper’s bullets. Squadrons strafe exposed and tasty flesh with military precision. A sting! Slap! Bright red droplets of blood… I’ve been hit! Send in reinforcements.

The Trifextra challenge this weekend is: 33 words (exactly) that include among them at least one example of onomatopoeia

*Photo info: This image is of a dragonfly swarm at Big Lagoon State Park near Pensacola. While mosquitoes here on the Gulf Coast may feel like they are as big as dragonflies, they are indeed, much smaller.

21 thoughts on “Battle stations

  1. You know I never thought of them in this way but now I wonder why I ever thought they should be described in any other way but this!

    Like this

  2. I lived in Alaska for a couple years, the the locals would tell you the mosquitos were so big there they would land on the runway at the airport. Love your piece, especially the title and the battleground theme. Excellent. Thanks for sharing.

    Like this

  3. Funny title, Tara! Unfortunately, mosquitos love, love, love me. I connected very well with your piece, again unfortunately for me but great for you ;-)

    Like this

  4. I remember the mosquitoes we had to deal with in Viet Nam – on a moonlit night, you could see ‘em from twenty feet away – and hear them from even farther. Netting helped keep one unbitten – if you were lucky enough to be on a cot. If you were out in a foxhole – you were S.O.L. And them puppies were BIG.

    Like this

  5. *sigh* Mosquitoes love me. If not for bug spray, I’d never be able to leave the house in the summer. Loved the imagery of being under attack–that’s exactly what it feels like!

    Like this

  6. Sometimes I just love the TITLES of your pieces. This is one of those times.

    “Send in reinforcements” love that line. I actually carry BITE OFF in my purse from memorial Day to Labor Day.

    hoping the little buggers lay low this weekend. ;)

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

