One step at a time

broken footbridge

The path to happiness isn’t paved with gold. There are no guides directing me to take the right fork in the road, no rest stops to help me recharge and refocus, no gas stations offering fuel when I’m short on energy and enthusiasm.

The road is riddled with pot holes and peril, busted asphalt and crumbling bridges. Milestones and exit signs are missing, and it’s a given that somewhere along the way I’ll get lost.

I’ll keep moving forward, stopping to ask for directions and remembering to take a companion along for company. Just taking one step at a time.

The 100 Word Challenge is to tell a story in only 100 words. This week’s theme is ‘Busted’

5 thoughts on “One step at a time

  1. Love the second paragraph. So much truth in those words and so descriptively written. Yes. This piece definitely spoke to my moody, in a funk self.

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

