An encounter in frozen foods

Decks

Over the weekend my son had what can only be described as one hellacious skateboarding crash. Not a little veered-off-the-road, or a jumped-the-curb sort of accident… more like a Tosh.O-video-highlights or Johnny Knoxville kinda crash. All road rash, torn flesh, head wound, blackish purplish bruises, bloody bandages kinda crash.

He is head-to-toe sore, but was more than a little pleased with himself over how epic the wreck was. His friends were impressed with the physical carnage and he earned a serious amount of street cred.

Being that he’s a few months shy of 19, I can’t go all mommy on him like I would have if he were 9. The extent of my fussiness was to gently wash the hamburger that is now his elbow, and the pizza on his back, slather him up with Neosporin, dose him with extra strength aspirin, and try to fashion some sort of dressing that wouldn’t make it hurt even more.

Okay, I did get him a glass of ice water, his fleece blanket and tried to make him as comfortable on the couch as possible. I may have even tucked him in when he wasn’t looking. I’m getting him in to see his doctor first chance Monday to make sure nothing is getting infected. He’s not my baby boy any longer. He might like any extra attention, but he doesn’t like the hovering. He does try to get me to fetch him extra pillows, or something to drink, or snacks, or… you get the idea.

Sunday, I watched him walked around like an old man, still sore and achy. It’s hard for a mom, trying to make the boo-boos better when your little boy no longer fits in your lap. What I could do was make him something special for dinner. A big sacrifice, since it meant changing out of my weekend pjs and making a grocery run.

Perusing the frozen food aisle (hey, 19yos like cherry cheesecake ice cream too!), I ran into a very handsome young man. He had curly blond hair reminiscent of my own son’s, and the sweetest smile. He couldn’t have been more than 3. Absolutely adorable. He was helping his mother by pushing her cart while she looked for something in one of the freezers. He couldn’t see over the handles of the car, and that’s how we met.

I knelt down to talk with him, hoping to keep him close to his mom. He showed me his Cars 2 race car. I told him that my son had cars just like that too, and that he was learning how to work on cars. He said he wanted to work on cars. He let me hold his car. Knowing how territorial My Boy was at that age with his cars, I felt honored.

His mother watched us, amused by our exchange. When I stood up, the little boy took off. I handed his mother the little toy and waved good-bye, thanking him for showing me his car.

As I walked one way, he and his mother went the other. I heard a little voice calling, ‘Mom can I have my car back, Mom can I have my car back, Mom can I have my car back, Mom can I have my car back…”

I smiled and thought, little boys never really change, no matter how big they get.

22 thoughts on “An encounter in frozen foods

  1. Poor WK, I am sure he is NOT feeling well, even now! I hope he is healing up nicely though. Isn’t it funny all you experience when going to the grocery store? I seem to have the most epiphanies there :)

    Like this

    • I did take photos, but didn’t even share them with his sister. His back is healing, and starting to really itch. His elbow wasn’t broken, but doc said he scraped through every layer of skin. That will take a while to heal. So far no infections – we’re keeping our fingers crossed on that.

      Like this

  2. Sounds like a nasty crash! I’m glad he’s okay, if not a little scraped up and bruised.

    I love talking with little kids that way. There’s a nice perspective on this side of parenthood – we’re able to slow down and appreciate the person inside the child, which was harder to do when we were the ones in charge and worrying constantly about all of those parental kinds of things.

    Like this

  3. And I just got teary eyed reading this. I have two little boys and I can already see my youngest getting into some sort of bike or skateboard accident. My Dad loves to tell me how when he was younger and whenever they would go to the Dr’s for stitches the Dr would walk out and say “which boy is it this time”. There was five boys in the family LOL I hope your sons Dr appointment went well today and that he is on the road to recovery.

    Like this

  4. My Mom (grannie) is 85 years old and she still treats me like I’m 12. I least I got her up to 12 – there for a while it was “No Mom, you’re not spoon feeding me in a restaurant.”

    Like this

  5. This was like reading a journal entry from my past. I have two no-longer-little boys. Both were into skateboards and used them for transportation. They had many close encounters with the road, trees, and assorted other sources of scrapes, cuts, and bruises until they started having those close encounters with a car. That was good news and bad news. The good news was that their bodies fared better when surrounded by steel. The bad news? Cars are much more expensive to repair or replace than a banged-up skateboard.

    Today, the oldest still spends his days playing with cars but people pay him to do it (he’s a master mechanic). The younger still gets road rash, cuts, and bruises, but it’s from falling of his mountain bike rather than a skateboard. They do grow up and get older, but boys are still boys, ya know?

    Like this

  6. Tara, very touching, especially to a like-minded mom! Mine is now 22 and still calls or stops by to show me his latest battle wounds. No matter their age, they take solace knowing us mom’s still love and care for them–even if that care is internal rather than the snuggle-on-the-couch sort we gave them at two years old. I hope your son heals quickly.

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

