Week one, 51 to go

The first week of my 366 Project is finished. Remember 2012 is a Leap Year so I’ll be adding an extra photo in there somewhere. While taking a photo a day is no big thang, taking ones that are good, or at least not just place holders, is what’s going to be the challenge.

I have the time and opportunity to get out and be deliberate with my photography, and not just depend on quick snaps with my iPhone. I’ve seen amazing photos from camera phones, but mine so far have been mediocre at best. I can do better, I will do better.

This year is an opportunity to test my skills, learn new techniques, work on genres I’m not comfortable shooting ~ like photographing people, self-portraits, more actions shots, with a few night time sessions thrown in.

If you’re working on a 365 Project, what are you doing to keep it fresh? Are there different styles of photography that you hope to feature, themes, key words? Are you also participating in dedicated memes for the year? What are your plans for making your photos amazing this year?

Shirah Beach

If you’re doing your own 365 Project, leave me a link so I can check out your photos.

6 thoughts on “Week one, 51 to go

  1. I’m not doing it this year (never have)…maybe someday. My photo goal for this year, if I had to make one, would be just to take more pictures, and be more creative with angles, closeups, and such.

    Like this

  2. I thought about doing this project but I know I can only really dedicate myself to so many things and I’ve chosen to try working on improving my writing. Regardless, it was SO tempting! I’m sad to say that for as many years as I’ve owned my camera, I am still fairly clueless about the ins and outs of photography. There just aren’t enough hours in the day.

    I’m looking forward to a year of your photos!

    Like this

  3. I have always admired you as a photographer. Your photos will only get better, believe me. Just take it one day at a time, and don’t put too much pressure on yourself. I agree with katikat, for me as for her, it’s a good way to get back into the routine of blogging right now. I’m taking a photography class, and I’m hoping to develop my skills as well. Like every photographer and 365 player AND as a blogger, I want to be proud of what I’m publishing, but from my experience as a former 365 player (who made it halfway), I know how hard that is. I made it halfway two years ago, and I’m hoping to do better this year, or I would not have taken the plunge in the first time. Will I make it? I don’t know. I feel stronger this time, knowing there’s you and Lou and a couple of others to inspire me and encourage me. I just took a deep breath and jumped in at the deep end and if I don’t make it through at least I will have learned A LOT! At least, that’s what I learned from last time. And for me, that’s worth it!

    Like this

  4. I love your photos. Always have. I want to plaster my house with them and they make me long for sandy white beaches…hmm.

    Posting a good photo is a great thing and working on the skills is on my list too. Right now my challenge lies in posting a photo a day. Any photo really. I want to ease myself back into blogging and find that the Project 365 is a good way to go about it. Once I am firm in the seat again and I’ve gotten used to it, I will work on the next big step. Better photos.

    I am thinking about taking a course in photography… not sure if I can make that though.

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

