A power unto her own

One step closer to your future
One step further from me

That tenuous cord
Stretching, pulling, near its breaking point

I knew, I felt the moment
You were a part of me

Before blue lines
Before white coats

You are still nestled
Beneath my heart

You can still
Take my breath away

You can still
Bring me to tears

You can still
Make me proud

To say
She is mine

My baby
My friend
My first to fly the nest

A child no more
A woman, a power unto her own

* Submitted for Amy’s ‘Five-Minute Breakfast Poems.’

Smart and ambitious
In the springtime of her life
Woman on fire

* Haiku Friday is hosted by Lou at LouCeeL.

Dedicated to my beautiful and talented daughter on the eve of her college graduation:

8 thoughts on “A power unto her own

  1. You’re right, there were tears. I am really proud of JM. I feel like she’s kind of “grown up” since I’ve known you- she will soar in the “real world”. And you should be proud– you had something to do with that!

    Have an AWESOME weekend! :)

    Like this

  2. Awesome, just awesome. Can’t believe your little girl is all grown up. So proud of her and wish we could have been there…

    Like this

So, tell me what you really think:

